Project Angst, or Noro What Have You Done to Me?

I’m not sure why it is, but starting a new knitting project always fills me with just a teeny bit of angst. It’s a complicated business, this. First, you must pick the pattern you want to knit with, and then you must pick the yarn, and it must be the right fiber content, and color – oh my gosh, what if you pick the wrong color?

And what about the projects that start with yarn and then must go in search of a pattern? That’s just as hard, almost worse, because you have in your hand this lovely skein, full of yarny potential, and you’re about to commit it to a pattern that might or might not work out. You might get it done and it ends up on a website somewhere for hideous hand-knits. That thought alone is enough to cause you to crawl into your stash and stroke the Malabrigo while making sniffling noises.

Now, for you non-knitters out there (or even possibly for some knitters), this may sound like unnecessary melodrama. And, in many ways it is. After all, yarn is forgiving and you can always rip it back and start over. Despite this fact, I find myself caught up in angst nearly every time, despite the fact that I’m an accomplished enough knitter nowadays that I’m almost always pleased with my results.

Almost. That’s a key word here. You see, lurking in the back of my cupboard is a yarn that’s been sent to purgatory, or the yarny equivalent thereof. You see, this is beautiful stuff. You knitters out there will know it as Noro Silk Garden, made of silk and wool. It’s not the softest thing to knit with but it has the most amazing colors, in a colorway that changes from teal blue to steel gray to a dark orange to purple. I know that doesn’t sound all that great, but trust me, this yarn is drop dead gorgeous.

Noro Silk Garden

Noro Silk Garden, The Yarny Offender

I think this beautiful colorway is exactly the problem. Noro is expensive and I don’t want to waste it on something I won’t wear – and yet I’ve started six different patterns with this yarn and have yet to find one that appeals to me. So I got stuck and did what I often do with a project that isn’t going well – I pushed it to the back and went on to something that I liked better. After all, knitting is supposed to be fun, right?

Here’s the interesting part. Every now and then I come across this yarn. When I do, the fact that it has so far defeated me rubs me just a little bit the wrong way. After all, it’s just yarn and I am an Accomplished Knitter, aren’t I? So, I’ve decided that this year I’m going to take it as a challenge to find the right pattern for this Noro and actually wear what I make. Maybe. I guess. We’ll see.

You see, with me, yarn is like other shiny objects – a beautiful yarn can catch my attention and I immediately want to knit with it. This one has lost its shine and yet it is still beautiful and in many ways it ticks me off that I can’t find the right project for it.

However, I have learned through the years that when the time is right, things will work out. So, I’m sorry Noro Silk Garden, but now may not be your time. Or it may be. One of these days the inspiration will strike and you will turn into the beautiful knitted object you were meant to be. And in the meantime, you’ll get to wait on the shelf, carefully tended until I’m ready. Inspiration is funny that way, you see. It comes, seemingly out of nowhere, and when it does, it’s a beautiful thing. Until then, we’ll both just have to be patient.

2 thoughts on “Project Angst, or Noro What Have You Done to Me?

  1. Peggy says:

    “crawl into your stash and stroke the Malabrigo while making sniffling noises” LOL, love it!

  2. Dana says:

    Well put!

Leave a Reply

