Finding your Joy

First, I’d like to take a minute to thank everyone that’s come along with me on this little experiment of a blog. I started it partly to see if I even had anything interesting to say, and your words of support and kindness have meant a lot.

I also started this blog as something of an anti-dote. You see, I write for living but not about topics that inspire me (or anyone else for that matter). So, after weeks of writing about the finer points of migrating data for insurance companies, I needed something else – something creative and that would make me think more deeply. Something that would make me come up with something new, instead of just spewing out information I’ve learned in 20+ years of running projects or rehashing information someone else came up with. Don’t get me wrong, I like my job. I work with some very nice people and it more than pays the bills. But it doesn’t feed my soul, that creative part in all of us that needs an outlet.

In talking to a friend recently, I found myself giving advice that I have not myself taken. I try never to do that. First of all, it’s dangerous to tell other people what to do with their lives, and second, I believe that you can only speak truth from your own experience. So, here I am taking my own advice.

So many of us spend years waiting for the right time to do the things that feed our souls. Don’t wait, my friends. I’m not going to give you some doomsday line about time running out, because I don’t believe in that stuff. What I do believe is this – every day is an opportunity to do what gives you joy, even if it’s only for five minutes. Knit the Orenburg lace pattern that scares you. Meditate in your car (not while driving though!). Draw.  Paint. Write. Spend a few minutes in quiet contemplation with the Higher Spirit of your choice. Join the roller derby. Learn the guitar or mandolin. I can’t tell you what it will be – for each of us it’s different. In my case, it’s been different in every phase of my life. Whatever it is that inspires you, take a few minutes today and Just. Do. It. You’ll be glad you did.

As for me, I’m headed off to cast on another pair of socks and feed popcorn to the Westies. Joy doesn’t always have to be complicated.

2 thoughts on “Finding your Joy

  1. Dana says:

    I look forward to reading your blog. You have a way with words and the honesty comes through. You speak from the heart. Today your words are especially true. We all tend to look for the right time or the right place to do something we love or have a wish to try. Sadly there never seems to be that right time, etc. Five minutes of something you love to do can make light of a difficult day. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

