Mardee, This is Your Vest Calling

Okay, so I may have mentioned my fear of steeking one too many times in my knit group and now a challenge has been issued. For those of you who are not knitters, steeking involves taking a pair of scissors to a knitted garment. It’s a fairly common method for making cardigans since you can knit them in the round (which is easier) and then just cut the front of the sweater to open it up. Steeking is scary, because knitting can run the way pantyhose does, but it’s really more of a hypothetical fear than anything, because there are ways to prevent that from being a problem. Still, if you’ve never done it before, it’s a little intimidating.

The garment in question is a vest. And here is where my fear gets silly. You see, I specifically picked one of my early handspun yarns that I wasn’t all that fond of. And, I knit it with bulky yarn on big needles so I don’t have all that much time invested. From the very beginning, the point of this project was to create a garment that would require steeking so I could try it out in a low stakes way.

The knitting has been done for months. Now the vest sits there like the stack of money in a Geico commercial, looking at me with its beady little eyes. It says, ‘Come on, you can do it. I’m tired of waiting. Get on with it.’

This big knitted tube wants to be a vest. Soon. Or else.

So at my knitting group this week, we got on the subject of works in progress. You know them, the ones that get stuck partway completed and are waiting for you to get inspired, or at least sick of looking at them, so that you finally get them done. To get me past this, my friends issued a challenge (or perhaps more of a threat). One has offered to get my vest a Twitter account and it will tweet all day long about its desire to finally be a finished garment. Another has offered to post on my Facebook page daily until I finish the vest. Another suggested that I change her name in my address book to ‘The Vest’ so that it can text me every day.

And interestingly, I’m tempted to tell them to do it. Maybe that would be what would finally get me moving to finish it and not cast on another new shiny object. But then again, even that is not a guarantee. I’m a monogamous person in every other way, but not when it comes to knitting projects or spinning wheels. When it comes to knitting, I am a social butterfly, working a little here and a little there. I work on something for a while, then get bored and put it down. I pick it back up, knit a few rows and then go buy yarn for something different. And let me see an antique spinning wheel that needs a new home, I swoon with delight and next thing I know, it’s headed home in the back of my car.

On the other hand, maybe that’s not all that bad. After all, if the only cheating I do is with yarn or fiber, I guess I’m doing okay. After all, they say variety is the spice of life, right?

So, if the latest internet sensation is a vest tweeting about its lazy knitter, you’ll know who it is. Retweet it, maybe it’ll become famous and someone will come along and finish it for me.

2 thoughts on “Mardee, This is Your Vest Calling

  1. Peggy says:

    You can do it! 🙂

    • mardeeknits says:

      Thanks, Peggy! This bit of peer pressure may be the push that I need. Meanwhile, I’m also making good progress on the Icarus finally. I have one more chart (24 rows) to go.

Leave a Reply

