Regrets

Ugh. I did it again. I have a personal rule that says that I never give advice unless people ask for it. Even then, I try to be very sure that I’m listening to the other person’s needs and staying focused on their best possible outcome, not just talking about what has worked for me. I try to obey this rule even with my own children now that they are adults. But, giving advice is easy and every now and then I find I have slipped.

Friday night, I was out at Happy Hour with friends and one of the people in our group brought up a personal issue. And before I even realized I was doing it, I was giving her advice.  And because I’d had a couple of drinks, I am sure that I gave more advice than I should have. Either way, I broke my personal rule and I’m annoyed with myself.

You see, humans are very quick to give advice because we want other people to be like us and we want others to benefit from our experiences. But, part of what makes people wonderful is their tremendous diversity. We all have to be true to ourselves; to live life our own way and be the people that we want to be.  So, to my friend (you know who you are), please feel free to ignore my advice, now and any time I give it. What has worked for me in my life may be useful for you and to that extent, you can use it, but you have to be true to yourself.

(Which, by the way, was the advice given by someone else at the table, clearly she was the wiser one that night).

Happy New Week, everyone. Hope it’s a great one.

2 thoughts on “Regrets

  1. Jean says:

    love you, Mardee.. all shall be well…. and if I hadn’t wanted advice, I should have kept my mouth shut…

    • mardeeknits says:

      Thanks, Jean, you’re so sweet and yes, it will all be well. That said, I want only the best for you so pick and choose from my experience what suits the real you.

Leave a Reply

