Spring…umm…Showers?

One of the fun parts of spring is the unpredictable weather. I say that with only the slightest hint of sarcasm; in fact, part of me loves the changes in the weather that make life just a little less predictable.

On Sunday it was 80 degrees and sunshine here. I forgot my sunscreen and ended up with a minor sunburn.

This morning, I looked out my window to find this:

April “Showers”??

I’d be complaining about the snow except that we had such a dry March, we really need the moisture. As I’ve learned since moving to the American West, water is hugely important here and enough water in the spring helps avoid problems like the recent forest fire near Conifer, CO. If the weather reports are accurate, we could have as much as 5 to 10 inches of this fluffy stuff today, which would be great from a moisture point of view but definitely put a damper on hiking and biking.

The Westies were very confused. For probably the first two hours this morning, they would ask to go out, then stand on the deck sniffing the air and looking at me as if to say, “Why did you do this?”  The people I’ve talked to seem to be a equally puzzled. Many of us were thinking summer was here when the weather was so lovely over the weekend. But, such is the nature of spring weather, when even in April, you can have snow.  And if the forecast is right, it will be 70 degrees again by Wednesday.

So, what can you do when winter decides to make a sudden, if temporary return? I plan to finish my work as early as possible today, and curl up with a good book. In fact, it’s a very good book – but more on that tomorrow. Happy snow day, everyone!

3 thoughts on “Spring…umm…Showers?

  1. Jean says:

    Grommit was in solidarity with the Westies.. I got a very dirty look this morning at 5:00 a.m…….

  2. Amy says:

    Can’t wait to hear about the book.

Leave a Reply

