Adventures and Regrets

I bought my son an airplane ticket to Spain yesterday. As a mother, it’s probably one of the more terrifying things I’ve ever done but it’s also one of my proudest moments.

You see, this kid has a plan that he wants to work in International Business and he’s been selected to study abroad when he’s only a Freshman. That’s a pretty big deal and I’m so proud that he has a plan and he’s sticking to it. I’m lucky in that both of my kids went to college with a plan, knowing what they wanted to do and set about to achieve it. His sister has been equally successful in her plan to be a dietitian but I’ll tell you more about that another day.

At the same time, it makes me just a bit wistful about the choices I made at that age, and how I never got to do the things they are doing. I took many years of French and always dreamed of studying abroad but it wasn’t in the cards for me. I’ve been to France once. It was a dream trip and I seriously could have stayed forever, had my family not objected. I won’t say that I regret my life, I really don’t, but I do envy my kids just a little that they have made better choices and are getting the opportunity to do these things.

As they say, however, it isn’t over until the fat lady sings, and I have no intention of singing anytime soon. Life is full of surprises and redirections, and you never know what could happen. Perhaps I’ll start saving my pennies so I can take a longer trip to France, or maybe we’ll consider retiring somewhere outside the U.S.

You see, you can have regrets over the things you did or did not do as a young person. But you can also choose to live your life today the way you want to, and do the things that feed your soul. That’s the choice I intend to make for myself, I think.

And as for my son, I hope he has a fabulous time in Spain and perhaps he’ll get a surprise visitor while he’s there.

Viaje Seguro (or in French, Bon Voyage), my son!

Leave a Reply

