About Tuesday

I’m having a grumpy Tuesday. I’m not even quite sure why. I’m tired, my allergies are going crazy, and my work is boring. All I really want to do is go back to bed. None of that, however, justifies me being quite so grumpy as I am.  I’m even grumpy enough not to want to be introspective about it. I just want the grumpy to go away so I can get on with things.

Undoing unexplained grumpiness is a tricky business. If you can pinpoint the cause, it’s easier because you either can or can’t do something about it. So, without a cause or explanation, I’m looking for the situational cure. The situational cure is fairly straightforward – pick some things that you enjoy and surround yourself with them until you start to feel better again. It usually works, at least to lift me out of the doldrums until I figure out what it is that’s bugging me. My situational cure today is a bit of an odd mix but I’m sure it will work.

First, allergy medicine. Not that it is something I enjoy but if I can feel better, that has to help.

Second, more coffee. That’s an easy way to undo the tiredness. We’ll argue the health benefits later.

Next, a bit of Celtic music. I don’t listen to it very often but when I do, it transports me to what I think Ireland must be like. (And one of these days I’m going to go find out, but that’s a post for another day).

Finally, a Tuesday quote from one of my favorite sages, Winnie the Pooh.

“You can’t help respecting anybody who can spell TUESDAY, even if he doesn’t spell it right; but spelling isn’t everything. There are days when spelling Tuesday simply doesn’t count.”

Whether you can spell Tuesday or not, I hope your day started out better than mine but it’s improving. I’ll turn up the volume on Tim O’Brien (thank you, Pandora!) and I’m off to make another nice cup of handmade coffee in my new French press. Oh, and give a hug to Pooh Bear, that guy has it all together.

Leave a Reply

