Knitting Monogamy, or the Lack Thereof

Dear Knitting Project,

I think we all knew that this day would come. After all, you’ve always known that I was not a monogamous knitter. An old flame is in town and I just couldn’t help myself.

I haven’t seen him in over a decade, and well, the attraction was strong back then. I was tentative at first, since there’s a lot of water under that bridge, but I found I enjoyed his company a lot more than I thought I would. And he looked so lost and forlorn, after 10 years of waiting for me to return.

But I don’t think either one of us expected this. After all, a sweater you could probably understand, even a shawl if it was a lovely lace pattern and made with Malabrigo. But this…this is a horse of a whole different color. You see, he’s a quilt.

He’s not even that great a quilt, and certainly not my best work ever. But, after all of these years, he called to me from that box in the back of the closet and said, ‘Finish me.’

So, I’m going to. Don’t worry, I’ll be back and truthfully, I’ll probably be seeing both of you at the same time for a while. (After all, you are a baby blanket and babies don’t really wait all that well).

Love,

Mardee

The Quilt in Question. It was all assembled and half quilted. I just have to finish it for some reason.

3 thoughts on “Knitting Monogamy, or the Lack Thereof

  1. Jean says:

    Going all ‘Little house on the Prairie” on us????? Don’t know if I will be there tonight… the day is already taxing..

Leave a Reply

