The Post that Is Not a Post

Well, I think we all knew this would happen. I’ve tried to write every day as a matter of personal practice. Like yoga, writing is something you just have to keep doing to keep your skills up, which I guess means you guys have to read me every day as well. (Sorry about that. I am sure some days this is more a slog than a blog). It’s true that I also write all day long at work, but that kind of writing doesn’t really count. It’s very formulaic and well, let’s face it…dull as dull can be.

Today is the first real day where I woke up without a single idea of what to write about. In fact, for a while I was writing several days in advance so that one of my readers had something nice to read with her morning coffee. (Sadly, that’s been harder to maintain than I thought it would be).

Today is different, somehow. It’s been a really dull week around here and the lethargy of it all has just set in. Even the Westies are tired and bored, it seems.

Usually when this happens, I tell my husband that we need a break and we head for the mountains. For me, that’s my favorite part of living in Colorado – the chance to escape away to nature and refresh myself. I always come back happy, a little dizzy from the altitude changes, and much more relaxed. But, we have a busy weekend scheduled, so I don’t know if we can pull that off this week.

And, I’m not sure it’s quite the fix for this. This has been building for a while and I think part of the problem is that I’m just not challenged enough. My work is boring and I don’t get out much, which for a very social person is killer. I have plenty of hobbies that keep my hands busy but my mind needs something too. I’ve considered going back to school, taking a local quilting or knitting class, or taking a second job that would get me out of the house more, but none of them quite seems like the right thing to do.

Perhaps I could try this?

When I get real bored, I like to drive downtown and get a great parking spot, then sit in my car and count how many people ask me if I’m leaving. 

~-Steven Wright

What do you think? Surely I’m not the first person to encounter this. Please feel free to leave your thoughts in the comments.

4 thoughts on “The Post that Is Not a Post

  1. Valerie says:

    How about a lunchtime walk in a park? How about going to a garden center and look at the pretty plants and dream during your lunch break? How about just taking the Westies on a quick 10 minute walk? Maybe you will get some of the revitalization that the mountains provide by just breaking the routine a bit?

  2. Concetta says:

    Hey Mardee, it happens to all of us at some point.

    Some other ideas for content:
    -start out a post with “I remember”. We did this in a writing class and it sparked an amazing amount of ideas.
    -do a random google search and write about what you find.

    The point is, a lot of the time, you just have to keep writing. I sheepishly think of my blog often and need to get in the habit just like you. I’m going to make the effort. Soon.

    But on the topic of other things to do, I don’t remember how close you are to Denver, but there’s supposed to be an amazing retrospective on Yves Saint Laurent’s fashion career there. It might also inspire you!

    • mardeeknits says:

      Great idea. Funny though, the “I remember” idea reminded me of the “I Believe” thing that the Blue Collar Comedy Guys do at the end of their shows.
      You know, things like “I believe that anyone who wants to wear a thong should have to go through an application process.” Who knows what I would come up with! 🙂

Leave a Reply

