Continuing the Natural Theme

So, as long as I’m on a theme of nature and photographs this week, I’m going to beg your indulgence just one more time and share a couple of more photos from my new camera.

I was surprised, nay delighted, to find that the bushes in front of our new house are lilacs. I adore lilacs, they smell so wonderful that it just makes me want to go lay in the grass underneath them and drink in the smell. They also remind me of my childhood for some reason, although I can’t quite recall where I remember them from. (Maybe my Aunt Julie’s old house where my cousins grew up? I think her neighbors may have had lilacs along the back near the alley).

So, I toddled outside, new camera in hand, to see how the it does with closeups. I’m not expert on framing the shot but let’s say the actors were sublime so I’m okay with how the photos came out.

There's nothing more beautiful than lilacs. I swear these must have grown on Mount Olympus and been invented by the ancient Greek gods.

Gratuitous lilac beauty shot. Because one just is not enough.

I’ll end today with some good words from John Muir. For those of you who don’t know him, he was an early conservationist who probably did more than any other single person to establish our national parks. A wise man, indeed…

Climb the mountains and get their good tidings.  Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees.  The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop off like autumn leaves.  ~John Muir

2 thoughts on “Continuing the Natural Theme

  1. Jean says:

    I love Lilacs too.. they also remind me of childhood.. My grandmother had several bushes near the back porch ( also a ginormous patch of spearmint).. thanks..

    • mardeeknits says:

      Thanks, Jean. My grandmother had spearmint too, I’ve often thought about planting some because it would be lovely to have fresh for tea…but it grows like a weed so you have to control it…

Leave a Reply

