More Demons in the Night

I guess we all have our demons, those things that stalk us when it is dark out and the night is cold. Even Westies, or at least my Westies, who have a new enemy.

I awoke startled at 4:00 a.m. Wednesday morning with a barking boy Westie on my bed. This is a fairly unusual occurrence, usually limited to thunderstorms and I assume burglars (we haven’t tested that one out yet and I hope not to). At first, I wanted to launch out of bed and immediately go find the cause of his concern, but the room was cold, the bed was warm, and there was no husband to send off on the hunt. So, I quieted down the dog and laid there for a minute trying to  figure out what it was.

Then it hit me. Sprinklers. Living here in such an arid climate, we have to water our lawns in order to keep the grass from dying due to lack of moisture. I run our irrigation system very early in the morning (4:00 a.m. to be exact) because it reduces evaporation and also allows the grass to be more dry when the doggies go out at six. It’s been so warm here that we were sleeping with the windows open and the sound of the sprinklers coming on must have awakened the dog….and set off the alarm, if you will.

I slept fitfully after that, so when the neighbor’s sprinklers came on at six, I heard them but interestingly, the dog did not. He was too tired, I guess. He continued to sleep off his ordeal so he could be well-rested when Thursday came…with the weekly threat of invasion from the milkman.

“Let the wild rumpus start!” ― Maurice Sendak, Where the Wild Things Are

Leave a Reply

