On the Solar Eclipse, or Photos Thereof

Okay, so I promised that I would post pictures of the eclipse once I got the chance to clear away the debris from our weekend and get a little sleep. I’m better rested (although still not what one would call bright and shiny but I’m seldom that way these days) so I figured I’d better get it done. Plus, I have to show my homework at my photography class tonight so I had a deadline which was definitely a motivator.

For the photo buffs out there, one of the things I learned is that photographing an eclipse is a lot harder than it looks. (Yeah, duh. Guess I should have known that. It’s not like you become a professional photographer by just dropping a chunk of change in a camera shop). It’s a good thing I splurged a little on filters at the local camera shop because it turned out that we needed more than one. I was worried about not having enough light, especially during the totality, when really the issue is about suppressing the light of the sun enough that you can see the moon passing over it. Without the filters, all you get is a very bright haze and significant overexposure so the image looks very blown out. We bought a solar filter at the camera shop and also a polarizing filter. The better of our pictures were taken with both, because we finally suppressed the light enough that you could really see the eclipse clearly. In all, we took over 250 shots in about an hour and a half, but I’m only going to share the good ones. 😉

This first shot shows the eclipse beginning, with the moon starting to cover the sun.

Beginning of the eclipse. I think this is before we added the polarizing filter, which explains why it’s a bit blown out. The solar filter by itself wasn’t dark enough.

Gradually the eclipse began to deepen and it started to get darker around us too. Unlike at sunrise or sunset, when the partial light is very yellow, the light around us was sort of an eerie blue.

The eclipse deepens. I liked this shot also because of the puffy clouds below.

Almost there!

The moon has almost covered the sun. Just a few more minutes to wait…

This was our first glimpse of the totality, or ‘ring of fire’ as it’s called. This was a very cool moment, as you could kind of hear a hush through the crowd as people watched it happen, then started to clap and cheer.

The moment we were all waiting for. What a cool sight!

The eclipse was a very neat experience, but half the fun was the crowd that we were with. We were on top of a mountain in Sante Fe National Forest with probably 40-50 other people who had all come just to watch the eclipse. People brought all kinds of interesting devices to view the eclipse with. The best, clearest view was from this one. At one point, it was such a crisp image that we could see sun spots. (There’s a handheld telescope behind that grocery sack, which he’s using to project and magnify the image). Another guy used a pair of binoculars mounted backwards.

A great homemade method for viewing the eclipse. Clever guy and also really nice about sharing.

It was a big crowd and lots of people came from far away to see it. One van-load of college students from Fort Collins CO saw our license plates and introduced themselves. They had driven even further than we did.

All photos (c) 2012 Mardee Brosh. Please don’t just gank my photos. I’m happy to share, just send me an email at mardee.brosh@gmail.com to ask first.

2 thoughts on “On the Solar Eclipse, or Photos Thereof

  1. Jennifer Wanzong says:

    Very very cool! I have never seen it like that. Thanks for the awesome pix!

Leave a Reply

