Photos. Finally!

Sometimes working in software is more of a disadvantage than an advantage. You see, when you spend your professional life building systems, you know how they’re supposed to work. The best software is easy, intuitive, and user-friendly. This week has been an exercise in finding none of that.

So, I put off posting the rest of my photos from Santa Fe until I got a chance to pick up a copy of Photoshop Elements. Once I bought it, it then took me a couple of days to find time to install it. Today, I decided to take a few minutes during my lunch hour to install it. Except that it didn’t take just a few minutes. It took basically my entire lunch hour. Seriously. How could this happen you ask? You just insert the DVD into the drive, you say. Yes, one would think so but no, sadly it’s much more complicated than that. Not to mention that once I opened the software, I (yes, even I, software tester extraordinaire) found a bewildering assortment of buttons and gewgaws, all of which seem designed to distract me from my purpose, which is flipping through the photos, picking a few and writing this post. Ugh.

It appears that to be successful with Photoshop is going to take more patience than I have today. So, I navigated over to my trusty free Google product (Picasa), found a few pics to share with you, and here we go.

We loved the desert landscape around Santa Fe, and particularly the way the mountains and hills look so different from at home. We also got a bit of a geology lesson while visiting.

The mountains around Santa Fe and Los Alamos look so different than in Colorado, mostly because they weren’t raised up out of granite the way the Rockies were. These hills are actually ash from a volcanic eruption.

Bandelier National Monument is a large national wilderness area run by the U.S. Park Service. It covers over 70,000 acres and adjoins the Valles Caldera National Preserve, which is another 89,000 acres and also the site of the volcano that created these hills by burying the landscape in ash for hundreds of miles around. Surprisingly, the Caldera looked very much like the high Rockies, complete with an elk meadow. The area is surrounded by over a million acres of Santa Fe National Forest so there are certainly plenty of wild areas to be found.

Another beauty shot of the cliffs. I just could not get over how lovely they were, and such a beautiful shade of red. (Unfortunately the colors washed out a bit in the photograph).

I thought this shot was interesting because you can see the layers of volcanic dust and some places where it has started to break away. At first, we thought some of the holes in the cliff were from people or animals digging but they were everywhere. Eventually we figured out that most of them were places where boulders were no longer held in place by the ash and just fell away.

Layer upon layer of volcanic ash. So cool.

Eventually I’ll find the patience to learn PhotoShop and use that to post my photos. I’m going to have to summon up some patience for that (which those who know me will say is in very short supply in my world). In the meantime, I hope you enjoy these photos and tomorrow, I’ll post the cliff dwelling pictures from inside the park.

Happy Thursday!

2 thoughts on “Photos. Finally!

  1. v4vikey says:

    Very Nice, Thanks for Sharing..

Leave a Reply

