Fiber Extravaganza

Knitters and spinners love to joke that whoever dies with the most stash wins. I guess it’s part of our dedication to the craft that we want to make sure we all have plenty of  raw materials on hand in case we need them. Come the Zombie Apocalypse, our families will all be warm in lovely hand-knits. (Hopefully some of us have some other skills too or it’s going to be a pretty sad situation, though, I guess. Raising some grub and barring the doors might also be helpful).

So, ever in the pursuit of stash enhancement (known in knitter parlance as S-E-X, or a Stash Enhancement eXpedition), my mother-in-law and I set forth in Oregon to visit some of the finer fiber-y establishments.

And did we find anything, you ask? Oh, dear reader, Portland is a city that never disappoints when it comes to the fiber arts. Here’s my personal haul:

Center: souvenir project bag from Blacksheep Gathering
Clockwise from top: Silk for spinning from my MIL’s personal stash (lovely stuff that she brought home from a trip to China); 3 skeins of hand-dyed alpaca from Pearl Fibers, 3 braids of spinning fiber from Dicentra, two hand-dyed silk rovings from a vendor at Blacksheep (sorry I can’t remember which) and lastly, a sweater quantity of Shibui from Knit-Purl, on clearance!!

Now, some of you will marvel at my relative restraint. I must admit that my dear husband came along on most of our shopping. I am sure that he came to spend time with his mother, but I suspect that he also wanted to prevent the acquisition of yet another fleece. (We are currently at three wool fleeces plus one alpaca blanket and that only counts what needs to be washed and/or drum carded. His fear of being drowned in fleece is not entirely unreasonable).

I have only one lament. Well, make that two. One is that we didn’t make it to Yarn Garden, which is my MIL’s home yarn shop and also the place where I bought the yarn for my first real knitting project. The other is that Woodland Woolworks, which was one of my favorite local vendors, has gone out of business and was not at Blacksheep Gathering. It always pains me to see a small business close and they always had great things in their booth.

Still, it was a successful journey. Fun was had, quality time was spent with both my husband’s relatives and mine, and while each visit is never long enough, it’s always good to see people again. Thanks to all the Portland folks for their hospitality, but particularly Julie, Laura, Janet and Larry. It was great to see you all.

2 thoughts on “Fiber Extravaganza

  1. jean says:

    I’m drooling over here… yummy looking stuff!

  2. agujasblog says:

    It all looks great! Can’t wait to see how it spins up!

Leave a Reply

