Busting the Creative Block

Well, so it’s apparently not just knitter’s block that I have at the moment but writer’s block too, since I have successfully managed to avoid both my knitting and the blog for an entire week. It’s not by intention, it’s just that I tend to blog when I have something to write about, not something to whine about, which seems to be my case at the moment.

I did manage to get myself to cast on a baby blanket this weekend for our newest church member. I’m sure she won’t notice (being all of a week old), but I feel it’s a somewhat uninspiring job. At my level of knitting, I ought to be doing Fair Isle baby sweaters, but this lovely little lady is going to get a fuzzy bias blanket. It will be warm on the upcoming snowy days, but I know I could do better. That said, having cast on anything is progress over sitting here waiting for inspiration and a sense of motivation.

I have wound the yarn for the Brunello cardigan. It’s also sitting here waiting for me to get up the gumption to work on it.

In the meantime, though, I’m trying to be a bit forgiving with myself. Certainly, this must happen to most people at some point. I cast about for some clever ideas on how to re-assert your creative self, when I found this quote from Ray Bradbury and I realized that I might be making this harder than it needs to be.

“Don’t think. Thinking is the enemy of creativity. It’s self-conscious and anything self-conscious is lousy. You can’t “try” to do things. You simply “must” do things.” ~ Ray Bradbury

So, what will I do about this creative block?  Nothing big, or splashy or pronounced. I’m going to sit down and keep working on the bias blanket until I start to feel like casting on something else. Maybe I’ll leaf through a few books or my stockpile of copies of Love of Knitting. I’ll sew the buttons put on the last sweater I finished. And I’m sure, as quickly as it went, the creative spirit will come back.

At least I hope so. I miss her.

4 thoughts on “Busting the Creative Block

  1. Mom says:

    Hi, kid. Sounds like you are a little stuck. Ray Bradbury is right. Even Nike (wasn’t it them?) with their slogan “just do it” made the point. There is nothing more intimidating than that blank beginning whether it is a blank screen or empty knitting needles. But think of the opportunities! It’s all wide open. You can create anything with just the imagination and a few useful skills. We can’t all be brilliant all the time, but I know from all the words I’ve logged throughout the years, that they will come to you. Don’t pressure yourself – write some poetry, make lists if nothing else – and relax. Remember that to you that simple baby blanket may be less than challenging, but to that child and her parents it will be very special. Remember the Velveteen Rabbit? Making something to comfort a child has to be a noble deed no matter how simple and basic it is.

    • mardeeknits says:

      Great advice as always, Mom. I think I need to reread the Velveteen Rabbit, it’s been too many years. Thanks for reading, and even more so, for the good advice. (Based on experience, for sure).

  2. Janet Brosh says:

    Have you used the yarn bought at KnitPurl here in Portland? If so, what did you knit with it?

Leave a Reply

