Talking Like Pirates

As I’ve said before, I love holidays. I particularly love those that are just for silliness and fun, not serious and not laden with emotion. Take Christmas, for example, it’s such a significant holiday that many people find it to be quite an emotional burden, loaded with guilt, sadness, or loss.

But today is a totally different type of holiday and in fact, it’s my favorite kind. It’s International Talk Like a Pirate Day. I have no idea how this started or whose crazy idea it was, but I think it’s awesome. After all, how often do we get a day when we all get to step out of our usual serious selves and just act silly? We should have one of these at least once a week; we all might be better people for it.

So, I don’t know how you’ll celebrate this very special day. I don’t have an eye patch or a parrot to sit on my shoulder (and I suspect that Westies object if you try to press them into this sort of service), so I’ll have to make do with posting silly things on Facebook and generally reminding myself that life doesn’t have to be all that serious. Of course, I also have work to do, so the day can’t be all fun, but adding a bit of lightheartedness certainly can’t hurt.

And as for you, if you do happen to have the eye patch or the parrot for your shoulder, stop on by. We’ll get out the rum and do it up properly.

Shiver me timbers!

One thought on “Talking Like Pirates

  1. caityrosey says:

    I always switch my language preferences on FB to English (Pirate) on September 19.

Leave a Reply

