Of Politicians and Polling Places

If you’re like many of us, at least here in Colorado, you’re probably glad it’s Election Day. It’s been a long and angry battle this year, and as I write this, the presidential election is too close to call.  It’s also been very divisive. I’ve lived through a lot of elections and I remember some pretty ugly races but I think this year may be the worst I’ve seen so far.

Now, rest assured, this isn’t going to be a political post. One of the things I pride myself on is that while I have deeply held political beliefs and can get as passionate about them as anyone else, I respect the opinions of others and I have friends everywhere on the spectrum from the far right to the far left. I love them all. I’ll also be glad when all of the heated rhetoric is over and we can get back to the business of running our country instead of fighting about it.

What concerns me this year is the anger and hatred that I hear in people’s voices as they speak about politics and the state of our country.  It seems that the voice of moderation and compromise has been suppressed in favor of taking stances and holding positions firmly. Rather than listen to each other, we are busy shouting our own beliefs, trying to be heard.

So, I personally am making a stand on Election Day today and I’d like to invite you to join me. As the nation stands in wait for the results of the election, I’d like to ask you to be kind to your fellow voter. Listen as much as you speak. Don’t shout to be heard. Keep your deeply held beliefs (by all means, don’t compromise those) and exercise them in the voting booth, not on the street corner.

Perhaps if enough of us show the way, we can get back to what really makes our country great – which is that when we band together, we can make miracles happen.

“A house divided against itself cannot stand.” ~ Abraham Lincoln

Leave a Reply

