Thankful for Thanksgiving

Even though it’s not here yet, today I am thankful for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday. Our house will be a crazy place filled with lots of extra people but I love it. My in-laws are coming and we haven’t seen them in months, as is my son who hasn’t been home since August. It should be a great time.

My daughter and I were talking the other day about the tendency for retailers to rush us straight from Halloween to Christmas. Her opinion (and I think she is right) is that we should take more time to enjoy the Thanksgiving holiday and not let the Christmas season start until after we’ve celebrated Thanksgiving well and properly first.

Maybe the Canadians have it right – they celebrate their Thanksgiving day in October, giving plenty of time to enjoy the harvest season without having to worry about the impending Christmas season. On the other hand, some of the Canadians I’ve worked with were a little shocked at how big a deal we make out of Thanksgiving, since most US companies take two days off and many of us stretch it into a full week by taking vacation. I didn’t point out that after the feast, we’re basically full-bore on Christmas shopping. I suspect they think we’re materialistic enough without pointing that out.

I’m excited for this year’s Thanksgiving day, as well. We will be hosting a large fun group at our house. One of my close friends is joining us, and hopefully bringing her family’s traditional pecan pie. (She brought it last year and my kids voted that she was invited forever as long as the pie was part of the bargain). Also, this year since I’ve learned a bit about high-altitude cooking, the meal should be better. Last year was okay, but several of the dishes weren’t quite up to my usual standard and I was stumped as to why. (Duh, we live at 6,000 feet!)

So, today I’m thankful for a happy feeling of anticipation and the chance to enjoy friends and family. I’m also thankful for those who are willing to take so much effort to get here, since all of the relatives are coming by train and the shortest journey is 12 hours of travel.

What are you thankful for today?

One thought on “Thankful for Thanksgiving

  1. Mom says:

    Thanksgiving has always been my favorite holiday. Even when there’s only the three of us, I still enjoy the food and togetherness. Last year we decided to get some games and a card table so we could spent the evening playing them together. It went really well until the table walked away. Dharma just stood up under it and strolled away. Anyway, I’m sure you will have a wonderful time with all your guests.

Leave a Reply

