Aftermath

I woke this morning to find that winter has come to Colorado. Not in the form of snow, since we had our first snow on the second of October, but in the form of moist, cold air, the type of which we don’t experience here all that often. While only flurries are in the forecast for our area, my Midwestern sensibilities make me think that we’re about to get a big dump of wet, heavy snow. It’s unusual, in this place where the sun shines 300 days a year and a ‘partly cloudy’ day means that there will be a sprinkling of clouds in the bright blue sky, to see the Front Range bathed in a fog that has hung for several hours.  In fact, it seems a bit surreal.

The house seems a bit surreal, too. After a week full of company filling the house to the corners, it’s strangely quiet as all the guests have ventured off for the train station and the kids have gone to work. That leaves me here, with a pair of somewhat confused Westies, who seem to alternate between napping and watching carefully for their people to come back.

I’m a little bit that way myself. While I find holidays and company just a bit overwhelming, I’m always a little sad when it’s over and can’t wait for the next one, when the people come home again and the house is busy and full of life.

All in all, we had a great holiday. We got to catch up with loved ones that we hadn’t seen for months and enjoy a big delicious dinner surrounded by friends and family. The only challenge is that we’ve already eaten up all the turkey and pie. As I write this, I’m finishing up a big plate of Thanksgiving side dishes, which are still plenteous, but there is no pie. (Sad face). That said, we did eat pie for a good five days and I’m not sure how much more my waistline could handle and have my pants still fit.

In any case, it was a good week. I hope you all had a great week too – please feel free to tell me about it in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Aftermath

  1. Mom says:

    Sounds like you had a busy and pleasant Thanksgiving holiday. We had a nice quiet time (my favorite). For years now, I’ve done a “no rules” Thanksgiving. That means most of the pumpkin pie was gone Wednesday night. The turkey got in the oven when I felt like it – we ate around 2:30, just in time for a nap afterward. For me it’s all about the leftovers anyway. Several days of not cooking and just nibbling away at all of the goodies is my idea of heaven – dogs too!

    • mardeeknits says:

      The No Rules Thanksgiving sounds like the best idea ever! I know for myself, at least, that I wasted a lot of years worrying about things I didn’t control anyway so this sounds like a celebration of just letting go and enjoying the day.

Leave a Reply

