There Was a Milestone, And I Missed It

I’m in the profession of project management, where our work is driven to meeting milestones and in many ways, job performance is measured by your ability to hit them on-time and on-budget. As a result, I’m a little surprised when an event that should be a milestone blows right by me without the slightest notice. After all, I’m trained to focus on this stuff, right? Well, in my personal life, not so much. In fact, in my personal life, I’m dramatically anti-deadline. I don’t even knit gifts for Christmas because I can’t stand the pressure of having to hit deadlines at home and at work. As a result, I track my personal progress by much vaguer measures. Am I happy with what I’m doing? If so, I’m on the right track.

Given this approach to personal matters, I guess it’s not surprising that I recently hit a blogging milestone and didn’t even notice. This will be my 127th post, which means that I hit 125 posts recently. For some reason, 125 posts seems like a weightier milestone than 100 did.  I started this blog to see if I could find my writer’s voice, and while life has sometimes gotten in the way of my writing, I’ve managed to stick with it more than I expected. Congratulations to me for sticking with it (something that I’m sometimes challenged with). And thanks to all of you who have been with me on this little journey, praising my better posts and being kind about the not-so-great ones.  While I technically could do it without you, it wouldn’t be nearly as much fun, since hearing your thoughts about what I’ve written is really the best part.

Happy 125th,

MardeeKnits

2 thoughts on “There Was a Milestone, And I Missed It

  1. Congrats on the milestone!

  2. caityrosey says:

    Yeah, I miss milestones like that all the time. Recently passed 200 followers and totally missed it. I had planned to do some sort of special post honoring by readers. Instead, I think I blogged about recycling yarn.

Leave a Reply

