12 Days of Christmas (MardeeKnits Version)

On the 1st day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, one broken knitting needle. (Found in the sofa).

On the 2nd day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, two Westies stealing raw fleece.

On the 3rd day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, three skeins of Malabrigo.

On the 4th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, four alpacas grazing in the yard.

On the 5th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me – five golden rings! (Of the stitch marker variety)

On the 6th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, six knitters tinking. (And probably swearing as well).

On the 7th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, seven spindles spinning,

On the 8th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, eight winders winding.

On the 9th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, nine sweaters needing just sleeves.

On the 10th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, ten wheels a whirling.

On the 11th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, eleven sets of mostly-finished mittens.

On the 12th day of Christmas, my true love gave to me, peace and quiet. Whew, the Christmas knitting’s done!

Happy Holidays everyone!

DSC_0094

Oh yes, and today the holiday season gifted me with a tree with a section of non-working lights. They worked when we first put the tree up. That’s how we roll around here, two steps forward, one step back. I also still haven’t gotten the ornaments on. Now that I no longer have kids to help with that process, I don’t like doing it so I procrastinate.

4 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas (MardeeKnits Version)

  1. Mom says:

    I love your version of the 12 days of Christmas. At least you have your tree up, I’m hoping to buy a cheap one because the nice one I have is just too big – no room for it in the house. I haven’t even started decorating because everywhere I want to put something I’m finding a lot of dust and yuck. So I’m deep cleaning and organizing. Might make it for next Christmas. Malachi is helping me. Last night we steamed our mini-blinds and melted them. Oh, well, I’ll just call it art deco and ignore it. I have a huge tie-dye sheet on my couch, lots of color even if it is more hippy than happy holiday decor. Thinking about your birthday, hope you have a great one!

  2. mardeeknits says:

    Thanks, Mom! As you said about Thanksgiving, it’s more important to relax and enjoy the holiday than to play Suzie Homemaker and have it all perfect. There were several years when the kids were gone that all we did was slap down a couple of holiday centerpieces and update the play list on the iPod to something seasonal, and that worked fine.

    As for the birthday, I find they are less interesting as I get older but I do appreciate the happy wishes. It will probably be just a normal work day as we listen to more news about Pearl Harbor commemorations. 😉

  3. Janet Brosh says:

    I am going to share this with my group at Pub Knit Night at Barley Mill Pub tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

