There’s an Alpaca in My Bathroom

Okay, well not a whole alpaca, just its fiber, I guess.

It never fails to amaze me at how calm my husband is about strange things turning up in our home. In this case, it’s an alpaca blanket (meaning the clipped fiber off the animal, not a finished project). It’s wet, smells like a barnyard, and is drying on the same rack that I use to dry sweaters. In the middle of our bathroom.

Lovely man that he is, he just steps around the drying rack and occasionally gives the fiber a poke to see its progress in drying.

Of course, it doesn’t hurt that this particular alpaca blanket belongs to his mother and is going into the queue of things to be washed (check!), carded and spun into yarn.

It’s a LOOONG queue, though, so hopefully I’ll get it done before we end up in the retirement home together, his mother and I.

I love the start of a new project, don’t you? So much possibility…

Happy Tuesday.

3 thoughts on “There’s an Alpaca in My Bathroom

  1. I love this, my own husband pokes at the drying hanks that sometimes cover our bathroom. It’s awesome you can take the unprocessed fiber and work through all the steps, I hope to get to that point someday, there is just so much new info when it comes to it that a newbie like me isn’t sure where to start. Happy carding and spinning.

  2. Janet Brosh says:

    Well at least the cleaning process has started. You just gotta love that hubby. I certainly do.

Leave a Reply

