A Colorado Christmas

I didn’t expect to be back online before the holiday, but as I sat here this morning, I felt compelled to write just one more post before Christmas comes. I was sitting here, as I often do, enjoying a cup of coffee in the quiet house as the rest of my family sleeps.

A song rang in my head. Not your traditional carols, mind you, but something I keep hearing on the radio. It’s an old song from the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band called “Colorado Christmas.” It’s odd that I would even like this song, it’s a bit country for my taste, but I think it was the lyrics that hooked me. It’s a song about homesickness, about being stuck in a hotel in L.A. when you want to be home in Colorado for Christmas. The refrain, in particular, sums it up.

But all along the Rockies you can feel it in the air
From Telluride to Boulder down below
The closest thing to heaven on this planet anywhere
Is a quiet Christmas morning in the Colorado snow.

It makes me want to run to the mountains and spend Christmas in a little inn, in front of fireplace with a raging fire. It makes me  a little homesick for Colorado, even though I live here. And it reminds me of Christmas mornings at my grandma’s, finding our gifts in front of a huge handmade stone fireplace, even though that was in a place that isn’t anywhere near Colorado. After all, Colorado is our adopted home and we didn’t know if we would like it here, but we’ve found a place where we are surrounded by both family and friends that feel like family. We’ve found a place that speaks to our souls as much as our physical needs. And we’ve found a place where we feel safe and healthy.

My wish for all of you this Christmas is this – may you find the special place that feeds your soul. May you celebrate Christmas with all the things that bring you joy and nothing that brings you down. Eat cookies for breakfast. Raid the stockings before grandma says it’s okay. Have the spirit of a child and the wisdom of your years. And know that on a very special night a long time ago, God came to earth in the form of a baby, to live our lives and see how it felt. I can’t think of a much more caring way than that.

Merry Christmas, all.

Leave a Reply

