At Loose Ends

Hi Everyone! I know I’m a bad blogger because it’s been over a month since I last posted, but I have a legitimate reason this time. Really!

You see, my post about “New Adventures” didn’t quite tell the whole story. It couldn’t because on the day I wrote it, I had a secret that I can now reveal. I started a business! The business, Elevation Technology Advisors, went live on January 4 and it’s been keeping me pretty busy.  I’m still working part-time as a contractor with my previous employer, while selling and recruiting for my own little consulting firm. It’s exciting, terrifying and everything else in between.

It’s also been an odd exercise in having freedom and not quite knowing what to do with it. You see, my whole adult life has pretty much been driven by my job. Other people decided what I worked on, when and where I traveled, and pretty much my whole schedule. And since I work in software, it’s never just between 9 and 5. In this business, your employer pretty much owns you Monday-Friday and sometimes parts of the weekends too.

So, to have the freedom to decide what to do every day is, well, freeing. It’s also a bit disconcerting because the pace is totally different. I find myself having to figure out how to structure my days. I’m figuring it out but it’s a bit more of a journey than I had expected. Unlike a lot of new solo entrepreneurs, I was used to working at home, so that has helped.

In the meantime, I’ve also fallen into a bit of a rut with my knitting life. I keep starting new projects, only to find that I’m just not enjoying them. I’m currently working on the Brunello cardigan from Knitty, wherein I am stuck in the lace charts on the border. I can knit it, but only in quiet and with concentration. I’ve got a pair of socks going, also with charts (what was I thinking?). I started a very simple slip-stitch afghan for something easy, only to find out that I’m allergic to the yarn (which is odd. I’m allergic to a lot of things but so far, no natural fibers, until this, anyway).

What I really need right now is a cardigan with big wide swaths of stockinette. No counting, which would mean no tinking. Suggestions anyone? Help me get out of my rut…

3 thoughts on “At Loose Ends

  1. Mom says:

    Okay, new challenges for sure. But also have you considered that it’s February, it’s cold, and snowy and it’s dark. Maybe you could use a full-spectrum light and a gym membership with a pool? or a short vacation at a nice hotel? Hang in there, take a nap, take vitamins! Remember how I always pushed vitamins (Centrum for sure) this time of year?
    Take care,
    Love,
    Mon

    • Mardee says:

      Thanks, Mom! Rest assured, I’m well-supplied on vitamins. Even living here, where the sun shines 300 days a year, most of us are vitamin D deficient so I take a good multi plus C and D.

      Discovering that I’m allergic to both gluten and dairy (and subsequently removing them from my diet) is helping too. I’m finally feeling a bit more like myself and hopefully that will improve with time. They say that the damage caused by gluten intolerance can take months to heal so getting off of it is the first step…

  2. May I simply just say what a comfort to find an individual who
    genuinely knows what they’re talking about on the internet.
    You actually realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people need to look at this and
    understand this side of your story. I was surprised that
    you’re not more popular since you definitely possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

