Givin’ It Up for Jesus

Not that way! Geez, you guys.

Seriously now. Today is Ash Wednesday, the first day of Lent, and many people I know will be giving up something they like for the duration of Lent. I always thought this a somewhat puzzling practice. After all, how does giving up chocolate or Pepsi make you closer to God? What it seems to do to most people is make them bitchy, something I can totally understand.

At least, this puzzled me until I picked up a book called “Memoirs of a Medieval Woman.” It’s the true story of a merchant’s daughter from rural England who wanted to become a saint, pieced together from memoirs dictated in her 80’s.  (She didn’t read or write). The book is fascinating and talks a lot about the religious practices of the day (mid-1400’s), and especially the efforts of the church to stamp out heretics. Depriving oneself of sleep, food, and other creature comforts was expected to bring you closer to God.

I’m not sure how that plays out in our modern world, at least in my daily walk. After all, I’m already on a diet that has taken away many of my favorite foods. I can’t say it did anything for my Godliness. (I’d be lying to say otherwise. The bitchy part, though, is totally true).

So, when I thought about how I would commemorate Lent this year, I decided to give up something a bit harder than a favorite food. I’ve decided to give up whining.

Now, let’s be honest. I don’t see myself as a particularly whiny person, but I will definitely admit to the occasional (okay, maybe frequent) bout of whinyness. So, this year, I’m givin’ it up for Jesus.

Lent is 40 days long – who knows, maybe it will become a habit?

6 thoughts on “Givin’ It Up for Jesus

  1. Mom says:

    Good for you. A positive attitude can help if only to boost your spirits. But if you need a “whine break” feel free to e-mail me. I’ll be happy to listen.

  2. caityrosey says:

    I’m giving up dairy…although the timing is coincidental.

    • Mardee says:

      Yeah, mine wasn’t for Lent either, it was from some pretty strong allergic reactions. So far, I’m off of gluten and dairy with more tests to come to see what else I need to give. Clearly I’m going to have to learn some new ways of cooking!

      • caityrosey says:

        Yikes. Good luck. I’ve heard good things from just about everyone I know who has adopted that diet. I don’t think I could adopt both at once though. Dairy has been hard enough on its own.

      • Mardee says:

        Yeah, not fun so far but the alternative is feeling like I have the stomach flu all the time. Given that as the alternative, giving up gluten and dairy doesn’t seem quite as hard. I am a little worried about what else they find in the testing though – the more things we remove, the harder it gets, especially since I travel a lot for business.

Leave a Reply

