Yet Another Dishcloth

So, it’s been a while since I’ve posted. Partly because I’ve been grumpy and I don’t like to post grumpy things, and partly because I’ve been busy. I also like to make sure I have something interesting to write about although today I am going to break that rule and tell you about the rut I’ve gotten myself into.

I’m on a dishcloth-making binge. I’m quite happily doing it, and in fact, my binge is now infecting others as I am teaching the girls in my Sunday School class how to make dishcloths too, albeit with a purpose because we’re going to work up to knitting hats for the homeless.

That said, this dishcloth thing is starting to get out of hand. At this point, my husband comes home each week, counts the stack, and asks how many dishcloths I think we need. (As if knitting had anything to do with need). It’s become a big stack.

OMG. Does anyone need this many dishcloths?

OMG. Does anyone need this many dishcloths?

 

See that bumpy thing to the left of the big stack? You got it – another dishcloth. At least this one is a different pattern.

So what got me started on this dishcloth binge? I suspect it’s a reaction to my brain being so busy working on other problems. I have other projects – the lace edging on that cardigan, at least two pairs of socks in various stages of completion, not to mention several fleeces that need spinning.

But dishcloths are the ultimate in simplicity, especially this one. Cast on four, add one increase per row, and knit your heart out until you get to the middle. Then decrease once per row until you run out of stitches. There’s not even a single purl stitch. That’s something my brain can totally cope with right now.

What about you? What do you do when you need to feel busy but really need something mindless?

Here’s to the lowly dishcloth. Useful, versatile, and the ultimate mindless knitting. Now that’s something I can get behind. And if any of you wants to take odds on when I’ll run out of steam, feel free to organize yourselves in the comments. There’s got to be the knitting equivalent of a football pool in here somewhere.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Yet Another Dishcloth

  1. Janet Brosh says:

    I have a bin of chrocheted dishcloths. Did most of them during the recuperation from back surgery.(Mardee was here for the first week for which I will be ever greatful.)

Leave a Reply

