Ah, August Part Deux

So today is the day that August bites me personally. It happens every year, and as I casually watch my younger friends send their little ones off to kindergarten, I sit smug in the knowledge that I’ve conquered that particular hurdle and while I know how difficult it is, I can simply watch and be supportive.

Then the day comes when I have to send my own child back to school, only this time it’s a 20-year-old headed off to his junior year of college. You would think that by now this would be easy (and it is a lot easier than sending him to kindergarten was), but it’s still always harder than I think it will be.

He’s a strapping young man at this point, bigger than his Mom, so my fantasies of simply kidnapping him and not letting him return to college probably aren’t very realistic. Plus, that would be bad for him, and after all, we raise these kids to be self-sufficient for a reason. That said, it’s still not easy to pack him off, knowing that I won’t see him again until Thanksgiving. Being my son, I probably won’t hear from him much in that time either, because he’ll be busy.

At the same time, I’m starting a new project and it’s not one I’m all that crazy about, so that’s causing some disruption in my week as well. Either way, it’s got me a bit unsettled, despite the fact that I keep telling myself it’s no big deal and after all, I do this every year.

It’s an interesting thing to be a Mom. You send a little part of your heart out into the world and just pray for the best, hoping that you taught them everything they need to know, and that the world will be kind. For the most part, it is.

So here’s to all the Moms with kids of any age, that are going through their own pains of separation this month. The best part is that there’s always a homecoming. For the kindergartners, the homecoming happens every day; for Moms like me, we’ll have to wait a bit longer but it will be no less sweet when it does happen.

Happy Back to School, everyone.

2 thoughts on “Ah, August Part Deux

  1. Janet Brosh says:

    Has Nate grown some since last Thanksgiving? He is a great kid.

    • Mardee says:

      I don’t know if he’s gotten taller or not. He was already taller than me so after that, I tend not to notice all that much.

      You’re right – he is a great kid. We will miss him now that he’s back at school.

Leave a Reply

