They’re Not All Mine

It’s funny how when you live with certain things in your home long enough, you fail to notice them. Like, for instance, a growing population of spinning wheels.

We had appliances installed recently. The guys were really friendly transplanted Midwesterners like myself, so we were chatting as they scoped out my kitchen and figured out what they needed to do. As he was headed to the truck to grab some tools, one of the guys happened to walk past my craft room. He stopped for a minute, then with a look on his face that said “I have to ask,” he said the following: “Wow, you really like spinning wheels, don’t you?”

Now, in his defense, the current population of spinning wheels in my house stands at seven, and my craft room is small so they look like a large herd. In my defense, however, they’re not all mine. The majority are, though, and the other three I’m holding for a friend who didn’t want movers manhandling her wheels during a recent real estate transition. He was kind enough  not to ask what was in all those bags lined up along the floor behind them. (Three fleeces in various stages of processing, plus three or four alpaca blankets just for good measure). Nor did he ask what was in all the bags on the table (six or so assorted knitting projects plus a drumcarder and container of half-processed fleece).

I’m not sure why, but since the end of the Tour de Fleece, I really haven’t been spinning. I think part of it is that for me, spinning is a social activity and with no one to share it, it just doesn’t appeal as much as it did when my fellow spinners were getting together every week. I haven’t been knitting much either, due to some tendonitis in my wrist.

That said, it’s time to get off my duff and get started on some of this stuff. Fall is coming (we hope. It’s been in the 90’s here which is crazy). It’s time to bust out the soup-making provisions, brew some tea, settle in and get to work.

Here’s to Fall – may she come quickly and reduce this heat. And may she bring some creative inspiration with her.

2 thoughts on “They’re Not All Mine

  1. Concetta says:

    Isn’t it funny how we accumulate this stuff, and after awhile, you realize that you’re using the same lines we used as teenagers – “its not mine!” LOL.

    I’m in the same camp, Mardee, I was holding yarn for Peggy and Beverly, and now I’m down to just Beverly. Connie’s doing some holding too now! 🙂

    Here’s to fall coming – I need some mojo back as well or the fiber/yarn is never going to make its way out of my house! I’ve pledged to myself that I’m going to try and make six blog posts and six projects by the time the snow flies here.

    PS did you see the fiber stash feature on Ravelry now? Its so cool!

  2. Mardee says:

    It is funny, isn’t it? It’s been a little crazy around here with David working pretty much 24 x 7 so I found myself in the quilt shop yesterday for their fall open house just to see what was new. Thankfully I came to my senses and realized that I could not in good conscience bring home anything new until I could find the stuff I already have. (Plus there are at least three quilt tops in there that need to be finished…)

    The new fiber stash feature sounds cool but I’m not sure I’m quite ready to admit to myself how much I have. (Isn’t that Step 1 of a 12-step program? Admitting you have a problem?? Right now I prefer denial, I think…)

Leave a Reply

