Halloween Terrors…I Mean Terriers

Believe it or not, October has snuck away and today is Halloween. (I’m still trying to figure out where August went, but I guess that’s kind of water under the bridge at this point).

There have been lots of Halloween-themed shows on, and they are wide ranging – from Food Network-style competition shows with candy, cake and pumpkin carving to traditional Halloween favorites like “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown.” That’s my personal favorite, to such an extent that I own it on DVD and will be watching it tonight after the trick-or-treaters (hopefully) take all this candy off my hands.

The funny thing about Halloween in our household is the dog’s reaction. As you probably know, if you follow the blog, my house is run by a pair of West Highland White Terriers (Westies as they are commonly known). They rule the roost but are beneficent rulers and at least let us sit on the furniture, provided we are willing to let them sit in our laps. Intelligent creatures, these Westies, they even watch TV, if by “watching,” you mean waiting for an animal to appear and then charging at the TV barking furiously.

The other morning I was sitting with my tea flipping through channels when I came across this adorable PBS kids show called “Peg + Cat.” This is not something you’d expect a 40-something to be watching, but it’s charming and the music was good. (And let’s face it, I’m not that bright before I’ve had my caffeine).  During the show, Peg and Cat are getting ready to celebrate Halloween so of course there are costumes. This is when I learned that not only are Westies smart enough to know a cat when they see it on TV, they also know a cartoon cat, even when it’s dressed as a fire hydrant. Much barking ensued and eventually was put down by the evil menace of the water bottle.

Here’s the video in case you need a sample:

Peg + Cat

Tonight will be interesting. Last year we had over 100 trick or treaters and eventually ran out of candy. (That would be good; no one around here needs to eat the 5 pounds of chocolate we bought at Costco). I’ll make soup, as I have done every year since my kids were toddlers. And after the neighborhood is quiet and the kids have gone home to gorge on candy, I’ll sit down to watch my old friend Charlie Brown while Linus sits in the pumpkin patch waiting for the arrival of the Great Pumpkin.

Here’s to wishing you a happy Halloween. I hope you find your great pumpkin too.

Mardee

P.S. Tomorrow is the first day of November. It’s All Saints’ Day for those of you who celebrate. It’s also the start of 30 Days of Thanks, which we celebrate here on the blog. It will be more of a challenge for me this year because it’s been a tough year but I’m going to try to do it – and write a post about gratitude every day. If you’re a blogger, please feel free to join me. If you’re not, feel free to play along on Facebook or the other social media outlet of your choice.

4 thoughts on “Halloween Terrors…I Mean Terriers

  1. Concetta says:

    Mardee, excellent spot about the 30 days of thanks. I’ll try to participate as well.

  2. I hope you have a wonderful Halloween and manage to offload the candy. Enjoy your movie.

Leave a Reply

