Mittens and Gratitude

This post is part of the 30 Days of Thanks. Every day for the month of November, I’m posting something I’m grateful for.

Friday night we went to a football game, the first playoff game of the year for a young man in our family. It was an important game, because he’s a senior and because his team was 2nd in the state championships last year so we are hoping that they’ll come out on top this year. As loyal family members, we dressed up warm and headed out to the field carrying blankets.

As we sat there, the cold crept in and what started as a nice calm night got colder as the breeze picked up.  The longer we sat there, the chillier it got, making me very grateful for these:

Warm and Wonderful. I love alpaca.

Warm and Wonderful. I love alpaca.

They are the Simple Autumn mittens by Halldora. Available on Ravelry free: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/simple-autumn-mittens

The yarn is Cascade Eco Alpaca.

They were simple, easy to make and super warm. I was toasty throughout the entire game. (Which we won, by the way. Go Cougars!)

In other news, I also finished the Brunello cardigan a few weeks ago so I figured while I was taking photos of knitted items, I’d share a couple of those too. I think it came out well although if I were to make it again, I would pick a sturdier yarn (it’s already starting to pill). I’d also make it in a solid color because I think the lace would show up better. And I would probably add a button – I may do that anyway as it would just make it more comfy to wear. Still, I’m very pleased with how it came out and I love the Knitty patterns because they have big girl sizes that actually fit, plus the patterns are very well-written and easy to understand.

Brunello Cardigan from Knitty.com. Done in BFL from Blue Moon.

Brunello Cardigan from Knitty.com. Done in BFL from Blue Moon.

Close-up of the lower edge lace on the Brunello cardigan.

Close-up of the lower edge lace on the Brunello cardigan.

So that’s what I’m grateful for. Family, football and warm knitted things on a cold November night. What about you? What are you grateful for today?

3 thoughts on “Mittens and Gratitude

  1. caityrosey says:

    I have a nice thick alpaca cowl I feel the same way about.

  2. Janet Brosh says:

    That is beautiful sweater. Do you do your lace with the TV on? You are sure getting more knitting done than me. Hope to do a lot more during our visit. Did the right team wind?

    • Mardee says:

      Well, but then again, I don’t weave or crochet. You have more competition for your crafting time than I do.

      The right team did win – and they have advanced to the next level in the playoffs. Hope they get the state championship this year.

Leave a Reply

