A Thankful Mess

Today, I’m grateful for this mess:

That's a lotta books!

That’s a lotta books!

And this one:

That's a lotta books II.

That’s a lotta books II.

I’d show you more, but I think you get the point. We have a lot of books. A serious lot of books. My husband and I are both avid readers and he loves his books. In fact, we have nine bookcases full and that doesn’t count the professional ones in my office or the ones we are currently reading that are scattered throughout the house. (Or the ones on my Kindle. They don’t take up much space).

So why am I grateful that I now have piles of books all over the house? Because we have painters coming. When we bought this house, it was a big beige box (“almond” if you ask the builder). And since the house is now eight years old, boring beige has become dingy beige. We’ve done a lot of painting ourselves including the great room and master bed/bath, but this week the professionals are coming in to do the tricky parts, including the two-story foyer with the 20-foot ceilings.

As a result, we had to move all the books out of the way so they can paint our loft, which houses the library. It was a big job but luckily my husband was willing to do most of it, since I’m having shoulder problems.

The painters will arrive soon! It will be a couple of days of chaos, but I’m really looking forward to seeing how it looks when it done.

So, that’s what I’m grateful for today. A little chaos and a whole lot of progress. What about you?

2 thoughts on “A Thankful Mess

  1. Janet Brosh says:

    What color for the loft?

    • Mardee says:

      We picked a fairly neutral base color for most of the house, which is what they’re using in the loft. It’s a bit darker beige than what we had – the color is called Bittersweet Stem from Sherwin Williams. The interesting part though will be the Ceremonial Gold that we used on the wall by the stairs. It’s a bold color statement – and still drying at the moment, so I can’t quite say yet how it looks!

Leave a Reply

