Practicing Dogya

I am loving this time change. Seriously, you would not think it would have that much impact on a person but for some reason, when we turn the clocks back in the spring, my body never really adjusts and I have six months of difficulty getting out of bed in the morning. In the fall, we turn the clocks back and it’s as though my body just relaxes back into its natural rhythm. It’s lovely.

What that means is that rather than getting up exhausted and walking into walls for a while clutching my morning tea, I wake up naturally and ready to actually do something. Today, that meant yoga at 6 a.m.

I don’t do yoga often enough. I should do it more, because it always makes me feel much better all day. It unwrinkles the muscle kinks that I get from sitting at a desk for 8-10 hours a day, and it relaxes and calms me. I wouldn’t consider myself very good at it, and it’s not like I’m very formal with it. I’ve only ever had one class and have been using the same beginner DVD for years. But I have one yoga advantage others don’t – my practice is not so much yoga as dogya, which means yoga with Westies joining in.

That’s how it was this morning, as I tried to do triangle pose and scratch a Westie ear at the same time. Or when I was doing Downward Facing Dog (my least favorite pose) with an Upward Facing Dog licking my face. At one point, I just gave up and flopped on the mat to pet the pups, which is what they wanted in the first place.

Still, that was a great moment. You never feel quite so loved as at the bottom of a pile of kissy Westiness. At least I don’t.

So that’s what I’m grateful for today. That I’m well enough to do yoga again, and that I have these little puppy people trying to join in. What about you?

One thought on “Practicing Dogya

  1. Jnana Hodson says:

    Tinkering with the clocks throws the rest of us off kilter for the entire ensuing week. Folks are grumpy and don’t know why. I did a long rant on it on my blog last year, so I’ll leave it at that.
    Still, sunset here now hits before 5 p.m., and by early December, it will be 4 o’clock dark.
    Thanks for the reminder to look for the upsides, all the same.

Leave a Reply

