Freedom is Not Free

That might seem like an unlikely title for a post about gratitude, but today is Veteran’s Day in the US, where we stop to remember all those who have served in the Armed Forces.

When it comes to military service, I’m more of an involved observer. I didn’t serve myself, nor did my dad, who was too young to be drafted during the Vietnam War. My uncles served, though, and my Uncle Milo was a Marine in Danang during the Tet Offensive. He came home a changed man.

I’ve also married into a military family, with a husband, brother-in-law and father-in-law who all served. My husband attended the Naval Academy and then served 10 years. He would probably tell you that it’s made him the man that he is. His father is a retired Navy veteran and his brother retired from the Air Force. Truthfully, I couldn’t be prouder to be part of this family, affiliated with all these people who stood up to serve their country even though it was difficult and dangerous.

So today we remember the men and women who have served. I’d like to extend that, though, and remember the families who support those men and women. The thousands of wives, like my mother-in-law and sister-in-law, who waited for their husbands to come home from a war zone or from sea. The kids whose parents missed birthdays because they were deployed. And the families and friends who waited for people who did not come home.

Happy Veterans Day to all of you. Your sacrifice for our country is remembered and appreciated.

So, that’s my gratitude for today. What’s yours?

2 thoughts on “Freedom is Not Free

  1. Janet Brosh says:

    For the daughter in law that can express her thoughts in beautiful prose.

Leave a Reply

