Ah, Fall!

I think fall is my favorite season. The weather starts to cool, the crock pot comes out of hiding, and stews and soups are back on the menu. Also on the menu is home-baked bread and muffins and biscuits and well, you get the picture. After a tough year of eating gluten-free, I’m finally well again, so this fall, I’m baking again. I never did figure out the high-altitude baking thing and going gluten-free made it just about impossible. My husband is enjoying the inspiration (not to mention the home-baked bread), even if there still are the occasional flops. (Even flops taste good if you put enough homemade jam on them).

Fall also inspires me to start knitting again. While I am a knitter year-round, it’s a bit hard to focus on knitting a wool sweater when it’s 90 degrees outside. There’s something about the crispness of the air and the sight of leaves turning that inspires me to get that sweater back out and finish it so I can wear it this winter.

It’s also a time to finish off a couple of pairs of knit socks that are in progress, and perhaps start something new. It’s time to start thinking about holidays and having all the kids come home. For me, it’s just a lovely and hopeful time of year.

I hope you’re enjoying the cool weather too. Maybe settling down in a chair with a book and a nice cup of hot cider, or enjoying a bowl of chili with cornbread after a football game.

Happy autumn, everyone!

5 thoughts on “Ah, Fall!

  1. Jean says:

    Yay! Glad to see you are blogging again.

  2. Mardee says:

    Thanks! It’s been way too long…

  3. hockeyirene says:

    Me too! Happy to be reading you again. And I love that your take on the season is food and knitting, always good foci!

Leave a Reply

