30 Days of Thanks

Somehow we blinked and it’s November. You can feel it, too. The weather is colder and we had just a touch of snow this morning, although it was melted into a wet snowy mix by the time I got out of bed. The Westies are confused. They keep going out, only find it’s cold, then coming back in giving me a look that says “what did you do?” Silly puppies.

Every November, I try to celebrate 30 days of Thanks on the blog. Since I don’t log onto the computer on weekends (part of my “save the brain” campaign, if you will), I have a little catching up to do today.

November 1- I’m grateful for friends and funny Halloween costumes. We had a great time at a friends house with food, drinks, and Cards against Humanity (shamefully fun). Because things were so hectic, we had to make a last-minute trip to the costume store but we made a reasonably convincing Lancelot and Guinevere, I think:

 

Lancelot and Guinevere

Of course, I am always the one with either my eyes closed or my mouth open when there is someone nearby with a camera.

November 2 – I am grateful for “a chicken in every pot.” Whole chickens were on sale this week so we used the opportunity to slow roast a chicken yesterday. I first brined it overnight in lemon, sage, garlic and brown sugar, then put it in the French oven to slowly cook for several hours. It was really yummy!

November 3 – I am grateful that Election Day is tomorrow and the phone will (hopefully) finally stop ringing. I also think we sometimes miss the point with our elections, because they are so undramatic. In America, we have a long history of peacefully handing over power, whereas in many countries, transfer of power occurs at gunpoint and with loss of life. We are very fortunate.

You’re welcome to join me this month – feel free to post to your favorite social media website, blog, or simply put a mason jar on the counter and toss in slips of papers. It’s a very restorative exercise.

Happy November, everyone!

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Thanks

  1. hockeyirene says:

    What a pleasure of a post, Mardee! I thought that the photo of you with your eyes closed was because you were being “haughty”. 30 days of thanks is a great idea. I think I’ll use a page in my journal for that. Thanks. (I guess there’s my first one!)

    I always enjoy hearing about your life and times – and the Colorado weather, of course.

    off to the Dalwhinnie whisky distillery tour and tasting. Leaving Scotland in a week – it’s been fun being in one place for so long!

    Happy November!

    X O Irene

    • Mardee says:

      Thanks, Irene! We miss you and hope to see you soon but in the meantime, I’m enjoying hearing about all of your travels. It sounds amazing. Hope you are having as good a time as it sounds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

